Faculty

Name Phone & Office Email Address Subfield Topics of Interest Region
Brian S. Bauer (312) 413-3731 bsb@uic.edu
Archaeology
New World prehistory, development of complex societies, archaeological and ethnohistorical theory and method, Andean civilization, the Inca, Cuzco. South America

Tarini Bedi

(312) 413-3583
 tbedi@uic.edu
 Cultural  Sociocultural Anthropology; urban anthropology; gender and politics; urban theory; anthropology of transport and infrastructure; globalization; performance and media studies; South Asia; Southeast Asia
 South Asia; Southeast Asia
Molly Doane (312) 413-0653 mdoane@uic.edu
Cultural
sociocultural anthropology, environment, social movements, globalization, political economy, consumption, commodity chains, organic agriculture, cooperatives Latin America, Mexico, United States
Robert J. Hasenstab (312) 413-9577 rjhasens@uic.edu
Archaeology
archaeology, GIS, remote sensing, cultural resource management, Iroquois prehistory Northeast United States
Mitch Hendrickson
(312) 413-3584
mjhend@uic.edu
Archaeology
Angkor and the Khmer Empire, the rise, operation and collapse of medieval Asian states, transportation and communication systems, prehistoric industrial production (iron, ceramics), field techniques, GIS and applications of remote sensing to landscape archaeology Mainland SE Asia
Laura L. Junker
(312) 996-3116
ljunker@uic.edu
Archaeology
archaeology and ethnohistory, complex societies, maritime trade, ceramic production, warfare, forager-farmer interactions Southeast Asia
Vince M. LaMotta
(312) 413-8189
vlamotta@uic.edu
Archaeology
archaeological method and theory, formation processes, zooarchaeology, bioarchaeology, ceramics, religion and ritual, mortuary behavior, sociopolitical complexity, dating techniques, Pueblo and ancestral Pueblo cultures, the Hopi North America, United States Southwest, ArizonaSouth Asia, Nepal
Mark Liechty
(312) 413-3581
liechty@uic.edu
Cultural
cultural anthropology, anthropology of consumption, middle-class culture, mass media, culture theory, globalization, youth culture, cultural history, medical anthropology South Asia, Nepal
John D. Monaghan
(312) 413-3570
monaghan@uic.edu
Cultural
cultural anthropology, anthropology and history, religion, agrarian movements Mexico, Latin America
Joel Palka
(312) 996-0789
jpalka@uic.edu
Archaeology
Archaeology and Ethnohistory, Classic Maya culture, Settlements, Dulture Change, Mayan hieroglyphic writing and art Mesoamerica and the Caribbean
Jack H. Prost
(312) 413-3572
jhprost@uic.edu
Biological
Physical Anthropology, Kinesics, Human Evolution
Gayatri Reddy
(312) 413-5658
gayatri@uic.edu
Cutural
Medical anthropology, Gender, Ethnicity India
Anna C. Roosevelt
(312) 996-3046
amazonla@uic.edu
Archaeology
archaeology, human ecology, human-environment interaction South America, Africa
Sloan R. Williams
(312) 413-8051
sloanw@uic.edu
Biological
Biological Anthropology, Bioarchaeology, Human Genetics, Archaeogenetics Peru, Kenya, US.